La Légende de l'Enfer du Nord

1 octobre 2021

Paris-Roubaix est l'une des plus grandes et des plus anciennes courses du cyclisme professionnel, établie dès 1896. En tant que l'un des cinq monuments prestigieux du sport, c'est là-haut comme la course la plus recherchée et désirée par le peloton professionnel.

Bien connu pour sa brutalité pure et son terrain pavé d'un défi insondable, appelé par beaucoup « la reine des classiques », ou plus communément, « l'enfer du nord ». À juste titre, de nombreux coureurs décrivent la compétition à Paris-Roubaix comme «une journée d'enfer sur des routes infernales difficiles», traversant souvent la ligne complètement épuisée, recouverte du sable et de la crasse de l'ancienne région minière du nord de la France.

Photographie par Bastien Gason

LE NOM

Étonnamment, « L'Enfer du Nord » n'est pas né du terrain infernal, mais à la suite des effets de la Première Guerre mondiale. Lorsqu'un groupe d'organisateurs de courses et de journalistes ont finalement pu inspecter la route à la fin de la guerre pour voir quels dommages avaient été causés sur le parcours précédent, leur réaction en découvrant la partie nord du parcours a été tout simplement « d'enfer ». Cela a été rapporté dans les médias le lendemain, et le nom est resté depuis.

La course a été à nouveau annulée pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et, après la guerre, une meilleure récupération a été accordée à la région, notamment des routes plus lisses. Mais là-dessus, le débat s'est enclenché – Était-il utile d'organiser un Paris-Roubaix avec des routes lisses ? Ainsi, les organisateurs se sont mis à travailler pour définir et inclure ce qui restait des pistes de charrettes et des routes pavées pour garantir que la course conserve son statut légendaire.

Leurs efforts en valaient la peine, car la légende est toujours d'actualité. C'est une course où seuls les vrais guerriers franchissent la ligne en premier, après une bataille pleine d'histoires, de difficultés et d'une détermination farouche. Des accidents se produisent, des jambes sont brûlées, des âmes sont écrasées pour la plupart, des rêves sont faits pour certains et des héros sont couronnés.

UN RETOUR SPÉCIAL

Depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Paris-Roubaix se déroule religieusement chaque saison, jusqu'à l'annulation de l'année dernière en raison de la pandémie et un nouveau report en avril.

Après la plus longue attente que nous ayons jamais eue à endurer pour l'Enfer du Nord de notre vivant, il est indéniable que l'édition de ce week-end sera incroyablement monumentale. Non seulement les fans de cyclisme du monde entier auront droit à un retour spécial de la course masculine, mais également à la course inaugurale féminine, où les meilleures cyclistes féminines du monde entreront dans l'histoire en s'alignant pour la toute première fois sur les routes emblématiques de Paris-Roubaix.

Photo de Kramon

LES ÉQUIPES FACTOR À PARIS-ROUBAIX


FACTOR est immensément fier de revenir dans l'Enfer du Nord avec plusieurs équipes en compétition pour le célèbre pavé de Roubaix.

Israel Start-Up Nation s'alignera avec une tenue très ambitieuse, en soutien au spécialiste des classiques Sep Vanmarcke. Vanmarcke a connu un grand succès lors des éditions précédentes, se classant cinq fois dans le top 6 tout au long de sa carrière, dont un 2nd lieu en 2013 et 4en 2019, la dernière fois que la course a eu lieu. Il sera épaulé par une équipe bien équilibrée d'hommes forts et de puncheurs, plus que capables de le guider vers un grand résultat. La majorité de l'équipe roulera sur le OSTRO VAM, parfaitement adapté aux terrains accidentés et très exigeants des routes du nord de la France.

« En plus d'avoir un bon alignement pour cette course, nos vélos FACTOR sont également prêts. Nous avons fait quelques tours de reconnaissance la semaine dernière sur le parcours et j'ai testé une partie de notre matériel. Je sais quels pneus Maxxis je veux utiliser et quelle pression est confortable sur les pavés. – Sep Vanmarcke. 

L'itinéraire 2021 suit un parcours similaire à celui de l'année précédente : 258 km avec 30 secteurs pavés audacieux en vedette, s'opposant cruellement les uns après les autres - certains en succession rapide. Sont inclus dans le mélange les tristement célèbres secteurs 5 étoiles de la Trouée d'Arenberg et du Carrefour de l'Abre, ce dernier situé à seulement 5 km de l'arrivée à Roubaix, à quelques mètres seulement de la frontière franco-belge. L'arrivée de Paris-Roubaix au vélodrome de Roubaix offre quelque chose de vraiment magique et unique à toute autre course du calendrier. Le frisson et la beauté combinés de voir les coureurs de tête ou le leader solo entrer dans le vélodrome pour se battre pour les honneurs sur la piste est quelque chose de remarquable.

S'ALIGNER:

Guillaume Boivin ??
Hugo Hofstetter ??
Jenthe Biermans ??
Mads Würtz Schmidt ??
Rudy Barbier ??
Sep Vanmarcke ??
Tom Van Asbroeck ??

Photo de Louis Lambin

Photo de Kramon

Photo de Bettini

Parkhotel Valkenburg sera au départ la veille, le 2 octobre, pleine de motivation et de détermination en participant au premier Paris-Roubaix féminin, qui comprend 17 secteurs pavés sur 116 km. La jeune et talentueuse équipe de développement a connu une saison très prometteuse à ce jour, faisant bel et bien sa marque sur le circuit professionnel. Paris-Roubaix offrira une toute nouvelle fenêtre d'opportunités pour arborer leurs couleurs, faire partie de ce qui est considéré comme une étape cruciale pour le cyclisme féminin et compléter ce qui a déjà été une saison impressionnante. L'équipe courra sur le O2 VAM

Les coureurs du Parkhotel, Mischa Bredewold et Femke Markus ont tous deux été sélectionnés pour courir ce week-end. Ayant récemment subi une reconnaissance approfondie du parcours, ils sont prêts et prêts à frapper le pavé.

Mischa Bredewold :

« C'est une super opportunité de pouvoir prendre le départ du tout premier Paris-Roubaix féminin, un peu bizarre même. Je pense que ça va être une expérience folle que nous ne pouvons qu'apprécier ! Je suis très content que nous ayons fait une reconnaissance, car les pavés il y a autre chose. Maintenant, nous avons un peu la sensation de Roubaix dans nos jambes et nous savons à quoi nous attendre le jour de la course.

Le nombre de secteurs pavés et leur longueur va être la partie la plus difficile. Mons-en-Pévèle est super difficile et le Carrefour de l'Arbre est, comme on le craignait, la partie la plus difficile du parcours ! Tout le monde nous a prévenus que Roubaix ne ressemble en rien à ce que vous avez connu auparavant, mais il est difficile de vraiment comprendre ce qu'ils entendent par là. Maintenant, nous savons… Les pavés du Tour des Flandres ne sont rien comparés à ceux-ci ! Les routes sont plus petites et il n'y a surtout qu'une partie de la route sur laquelle vous pouvez vraiment rouler. Côté technique, rouler au milieu de la route sera généralement le meilleur moyen de franchir les pavés. Mais, plus important encore, il s'agira d'éliminer les peurs et d'y aller !

Je veux me concentrer sur le fait de vraiment profiter de l'opportunité de participer à cette course et que ce soit une expérience incroyable ! Mais nous serons sur la ligne de départ avec une équipe solide, avec des coureurs qui aiment tous ce genre de travail. Donc, nous allons certainement faire de bons résultats ensemble. Personnellement, j'ai pour objectif de rester dans le groupe de tête le plus longtemps possible et de travailler avec mes coéquipiers pour obtenir le meilleur résultat possible au sprint, quelle que soit la position pour laquelle nous nous battons à ce stade.

Nous roulerons sur l'O2 VAM, avec Black Inc roues qui sont un excellent combo pour se battre sur les pavés. Pendant la reconnaissance, les sensations étaient bonnes et nous n'avons eu aucun problème mécanique, donc les motos sont quelque chose dont nous n'avons certainement pas à nous soucier pour samedi.

Femke Markus :

« Notre reconnaissance Paris-Roubaix s'est très bien passée. J'étais très curieux au sujet du cours et je suis tellement heureux que nous ayons pris le temps de l'explorer. Nous savons maintenant à quoi ressembleront les pavés et les points du parcours auxquels nous devons porter une attention particulière.

J'aime vraiment la route - toutes les sections pavées et les plaines ouvertes. Mais force est de constater que la course va être difficile… On ne peut faire un bon résultat à Paris-Roubaix que si l'on est vraiment fort et que l'on a de la chance de son côté. Mon secteur pavé préféré doit être le Mons en Pévéle, mais c'est aussi l'une des sections les plus difficiles du parcours où des mouvements décisifs pour la course seront probablement effectués.  

Je pense que la meilleure technique pour rider le pavé est d'aller vite ! Si vous conduisez plus fort, les pavés vous feront moins mal. Je pense aussi qu'il est important de ne pas trop serrer le guidon, mais évidemment assez pour garder le contrôle.

J'adorerais rouler vers un bon résultat, car c'est l'une de mes courses de rêve. Les pavés et un parcours difficile me conviennent toujours. Je vais faire de mon mieux pour courir le plus longtemps possible dans le premier groupe. En équipe, nous travaillerons ensemble et nous nous entraiderons autant que possible. Ensemble, nous sommes plus forts que seuls.

S'ALIGNER:

Amber van der Hulst ??
Femke Markus ??
Kirstie van Haaften ??
Léonie Bos ??
Lieke Nooijen ??
Mischa Bredewold ??

Dernières nouvelles, articles et médias

For the Love of Cycling Factor Strava Club December Challenge

For the Love of Cycling Factor Strava Club December Challenge

This December Factor CEO, Rob Gitelis, Sales Director - also 4x Taiwan KOM champion, John Ebsen, and former professional cyclist, Phil Gaimon, will be each setting out to ride a cumulative distance of 3,100km within the month. That’s 100km for every day of the month...

Our Top Indoor Cycling Hacks

Our Top Indoor Cycling Hacks

The winter blues have started to make an appearance in the Northern Hemisphere as temperatures continue to plummet and the weather takes a turn for the worst. For a lot of us, this means training outdoors begins to become limited, unbearable or simply not possible in...

Angelo Calilap: Discovering Gravel Racing on the LS

Angelo Calilap: Discovering Gravel Racing on the LS

Factor Ambassador, Angelo Calilap, stepped outside of his comfort zone and took a dive into the unknown over the summer, swapping out his skinny tyres for the slightly thicker gravel grinding kind. From Brooklyn, NYC, naturally Calilap favours the road, commonly...

Sélectionnez votre devise
USD Dollar des États-Unis (US)
EUR euro

The Legend of the Hell of the North

Oct 1, 2021

Paris-Roubaix is one of professional cycling’s greatest and oldest races, established as early as 1896. As one of the five prestigious monuments of the sport, it’s up there as the most sought out, desired race to win by the professional peloton.

Well known for its sheer brutality and unfathomably challenging cobbled terrain, referred to by many as, ‘The Queen of the Classics’, or more commonly, ‘The Hell of the North’. Fittingly, many riders describe competing in Paris-Roubaix as ‘a day in hell over hellishly tough roads’, often crossing the line completely depleted, covered in the grit and grime of northern France’s former coal-mining region.

Photography by Bastien Gason

THE NAME

Surprisingly, ‘The Hell of the North’ didn’t originate from the hellish terrain, but following the effects of World War I. When a group of race organisers and journalists were eventually able to inspect the route at the conclusion of the war to see what damage had been made on the previous race route, their reaction when discovering the northern part of the course was simply, ‘hell’. It was reported in the media the following day, and the name has stuck ever since.

The race went on to be cancelled again during World War II, and following the war, better recovery was granted to the area, including smoother roads. But with that, the debate sparked – Was there any point in holding a Paris-Roubaix with smooth roads? So, the organisers set out to work to scope out and include what was left of the cart tracks and pavé roads to ensure the race retained its legendary status.

Their efforts were worth it, as the legend certainly still stands. It’s a race where only true warriors cross the line in first place, following a battle full of stories, hardship and fierce determination. Crashes are had, legs are burned, souls are crushed for most, dreams are made for some and heroes are crowned.

A SPECIAL RETURN

Since the Second World War, Paris-Roubaix has taken place religiously every season, until last year’s cancellation due to the pandemic and further postponement this April.

Following the longest wait we’ve ever had to endure for the Hell of the North in our lifetimes, there is no denying that this weekend’s edition is going to be incredibly monumental. Not only will cycling fans across the world be treated to a special return of the men’s race, but also the inaugural women’s race, where the world’s best female cyclists will make history by lining up for the very first time to take on the iconic roads of Paris-Roubaix.

Photo by Kramon

FACTOR TEAMS AT PARIS-ROUBAIX


FACTOR are immensly proud to be returning to the Hell of the North with several teams competing for the famous Roubaix cobble stone.

Israel Start-Up Nation will be lining up with a highly ambitious outfit, in support of Classics specialist Sep Vanmarcke. Vanmarcke has had great success in previous editions, placing in the top 6 five times throughout his career, including a 2nd place in 2013 and 4th in 2019, the last time the race was held. He will be supported by a well-rounded team of strong men and puncheurs, more than capable of guiding him to a great result. The majority of the team will be riding the OSTRO VAM, ideally suited to the rough, highly demanding terrain of the roads of northern France.

“Apart from having a good line-up for this race, our FACTOR bikes are ready, too. We did some recon rides last week on the course, and I tested out some of our material. I know which Maxxis tires I want to run and how much pressure is comfortable on the cobbles.” – Sep Vanmarcke. 

The 2021 route travels over a similar course to previous year’s: 258km with a daring 30 cobbled sectors featured, cruelly countering one after the other – some in quick succession. Included in the mix are the infamous 5 star sectors of Trouee d’Arenberg and the Carrefour de l’Abre, the latter lying just 5km from the finish in Roubaix, only metres from the France-Belgium border. The Paris-Roubaix finish in the Roubaix velodrome offers something truly magical and unique to any other race across the calendar. The sheer thrill and beauty combined of seeing the leading riders or solo leader enter the velodrome to battle it out for honours on the track is something remarkable.

LINE-UP:

Guillaume Boivin 🇨🇦
Hugo Hofstetter 🇫🇷
Jenthe Biermans 🇧🇪
Mads Würtz Schmidt 🇩🇰
Rudy Barbier 🇫🇷
Sep Vanmarcke 🇧🇪
Tom Van Asbroeck 🇧🇪

Photo by Louis Lambin

Photo by Kramon

Photo by Bettini

Parkhotel Valkenburg will be taking to the start-line the day prior, on October 2nd full of motivation and determination participating in the first women’s Paris-Roubaix, that includes 17 cobbled sectors over 116km. The young and talented development team have had a very promising season to date, well and truly making their mark on the pro tour. Paris-Roubaix will provide a whole new window of opportunity to fly their colours, be part of what is considered a pivotal step forward for women’s cycling, and round out what has already been an impressive season. The team will be racing on the O2 VAM

Parkhotel riders, Mischa Bredewold and Femke Markus have both been selected to race this weekend. Having recently undergone an extensive recon of the course, they are primed and ready to hit the pavé rolling.

Mischa Bredewold:

“It’s such a great opportunity to be able to start at the first ever women’s Paris-Roubaix, a bit bizarre even. I think it’s going to be an insane experience that we can only enjoy! I’m very pleased that we did a recon, because the cobbles there are something else. Now we have a bit of the Roubaix-feeling in our legs and we know what to expect on race day.

The number of cobbled sectors and their length is going to be the toughest part. Mons-en-Pévèle is super challenging and Carrefour de l’Arbre is, as feared, for sure the hardest section of the course! Everyone warned us that Roubaix is nothing like you’ve experienced before, but it’s hard to really understand what they mean by that. Now we know…The cobbles in The Tour of Flanders are nothing compared to these! The roads are smaller and there’s mostly just one part of the road that you can really ride on. In terms of technique, riding in the middle of the road will generally be the best way to get over the cobbles. But, most importantly, it will be about shutting out the fears and just going for it!

I want to focus on really enjoying the opportunity to ride this race and let it be an amazing experience! But we’ll be on the start line with a strong team, with riders that all love this kind of work. So, we’re definitely going to go for some good results together. Personally, I’m aiming to stay in the front group for as long as possible, and work together with my teammates to achieve the best result we can in the sprint for whatever position we’re fighting for at that point.

We will be racing on the O2 VAM, together with Black Inc wheels which are a great combo for battling over the cobbles. During the recon, the feeling was good, and we had no mechanical issues, so the bikes are something we definitely don’t have to worry about for Saturday.”

Femke Markus:

“Our Paris-Roubaix recon went really well. I was very curious about the course and I am so glad that we took the time to explore it. Now we know what the cobblestones will feel like and the points along the route that we need to pay extra attention on.

I really like the route – all the cobblestone sections and open plains. But there’s no denying that it’s going to be a tough race…You can only ride to a good result in Paris-Roubaix if you are really strong and have some good luck on your side. My favourite pavé sector has to be the Mons en Pévéle, but it’s also one of the most challenging sections of the course where race decisive moves will probably be made.  

I think the best technique to riding the pavé is with a lot of speed! If you drive harder, the cobblestones will hurt less. I also think it’s important to not grip the handlebars too tightly, but obviously enough to stay in control.

I would love to ride to a strong result, because it is one of my dream races. Cobblestones and a tough course always suit me. I’m going to do my best to race as long as possible in the first group. As a team, we will work together and help each other as much as we can. Together we are stronger than alone.”

LINE-UP:

Amber van der Hulst 🇳🇱
Femke Markus 🇳🇱
Kirstie van Haaften 🇳🇱
Leonie Bos 🇳🇱
Lieke Nooijen 🇳🇱
Mischa Bredewold 🇳🇱

Latest News, Articles & Media

Phil Gaimon: O2 VAM Adventures

Phil Gaimon: O2 VAM Adventures

Former professional cyclist, Phil Gaimon retired from racing in 2016, however his passion for cycling and in particular, climbing has only continued to strengthen since. Based in Los Angeles, California, his own backyard is packed with an incredible playground of...

A Special Edition OSTRO VAM for a Special Rider

A Special Edition OSTRO VAM for a Special Rider

André Greipel rode his very last professional race at the Münsterland Giro last weekend in Germany. He rounded out his 19th consecutive season with an applaudable 10th place, welcomed by thousands of supportive fans congregating to celebrate the career of a true...

Il Lombardia: The Race of the Falling Leaves

Il Lombardia: The Race of the Falling Leaves

Il Lombardia returns for the 115th edition this Saturday, October 9th. The prestigious Autumn Classic, also known as ‘the race of the falling leaves’ has been a credulous part of cycling history since its establishment as early as 1905. As the final of the five...

Select your currency
USD United States (US) dollar
EUR Euro